Saturday, January 11, 2014

What are all the things you will need to load a muzzleloader?

camping place mackenzie on The Mackenzie Poltergeist Curse  thoughts of the professionals
camping place mackenzie image



Larry





Answer
Here is a complete list for the modern day muzzleloader when hunting

MUZZLELOADER MUST-TAKE GEAR
by Brad Fenson
When deciding to venture to the Northwest Territories for a Dall's sheep hunt with Mackenzie Mountain Outfitters, it didn't take me long to decide to do it with my trusty muzzleloader. The backpack hunt that I opted to book would be physically demanding, and packing the right gear would be crucial to my success. Clothing, boots, sleeping gear and packs were all carefully considered before placing them on my "must-take" list. In the end I used a small fanny pack to stow everything I needed in one small, convenient bundle. I took extra powder and bullets in the event my rifle or scope was banged in the rugged terrain. Accidents happen, but being prepared means you have the powder and bullets to check your zero if necessary.As it turned out, I only required a single shot to take a great 10-year-old ram with a sweeping full curl on his magnificent set of horns.
SHOOTING GEAR
Triple Seven loose powder (canister left in main camp)
Powder flask to take on hunt (enough volume to hold powder for 10 magnum loads)
Powder measurer
Six speedloaders
One capping tool filled with 209 primers
20 PowerBelt Platinum bullets
Ziploc bag to store all shooting components in a dry environment
CLEANING SUPPLES
Resealable bag of 50 presoaked cleaning patches
100 dry patches
Wire brush
Screw-in T-handle to turn ramrod into cleaning rod
Cleaning jag
Small tube of breech plug lubricant
Small bottle of cleaning solvent
Ziploc bag to store supplies and prevent leaks or spill

Those critical primers do not belong in your dirty, lint- and dust-filled pants pocket. Just imagine what a few grains of grit will do to a tiny flash hole. Most speedloaders have a cool primer pocket built in, so take advantage of it.

Usually, I have five or so shots with me on a typical deer hunt. If at all possible, I carry an entire can of propellant or box of pellets and a few packs of bullets that stay in camp. You just never know what can happen that would force you to zero in the field.

going to big island hawaii in Oct this year?







and we are going to be camping at Mackenzie State Recreation Area...so we will be on (the west side?) about 30 miles south of Hilo...Anyways, we plan to see Akaka Falls, Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Red Road, Lava Tree State Monument and Rainbow Falls. What else is there to do on that side of the island? Will it be worth the drive (and money) to visit Kona? Also, where should we go to see a good Luau?


Answer
First of all, Mackenzie State Rec Area is located on the east side of the Big Island. Not many tourists go down that far and you will find mostly locals in the area. That's good and bad, in that not all locals in that part of the island are "visitor friendly", so keep that in mind. There can also be incidences of vandalism, car break-ins, etc. because it is fairly isolated. There is no water there.

The other problem of staying "at the end of the road" so to speak is that for you to visit any of the places you've mentioned, with the exception of the Lava Tree State Monument, you're looking at a minimum of an hour's drive. May not seem like much, but after a day or two of back and forth driving, gas at $5/gal, you'll rethink that.

You might consider camping at one of the campsites located in the Hawaii Volcanoes National Park for part of your visit, instead. Not only is it more convenient to the HVNP, but they are kept up better. I will add that if you do choose to do so, you'll want to bring fairly warm clothing and rain gear as it does tend to get "cool" at night and misty/drizzling conditions are common as well.
Namakanipaio Campground is off the main road (Hwy 11) and has water, restrooms, picnic tables, etc. and is a first-come, first-serve campground. It only has 8 campsites, so can be tricky finding one open at times. http://www.nps.gov/havo/planyourvisit/campgrounds.htm

Contrary to the other response left, it is called the Big Island because it is fairly big, unless you just plan on driving around the island on a windshield-tour, there is a lot of driving to get from point to point. Kona is the western side of the island and where most of the tourist activities and hotels are to be found because it is the sunny, dry side of the island.

So, if you're wanting to go to a luau, Kona will be your destination. Kona is about 3.5/4-hrs drive from Mackenzie State Park. Its about a 2/2.5-hr drive from HVNP Unless you're a member of Costco, fill your vehicle with gas in Hilo when possible, gas runs 15-20 cents/gal more elsewhere on the island.

I invite you to visit my blog at www.myhawaiifoodfun.com, click on the Big Island under the Categories section to get a better idea of what kind of activities are available.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are some good holiday destinations in Melbourne Victoria?

camping place melbourne on ... Melbourne With The ... England And Other Distinguished Passengers: S.S
camping place melbourne image



1271190


I live in Melbourne and really wanna get to know my country I'm 20 years old and I wanna take my mum an 14 year old sister with my as well for some small getaways just wanting to know some good places to go ! atm i wanna start with places in victoria then eventually broaden to whole of australia but thats another question for another day haha


Answer
Head for the Macedon Ranges and get away from the heat of a Melbourne summer to sample some local wines & fruit. Visit Hanging Rock, Macedon National Park has some great camping spots. Taste wine at the Cope Williams Winery. The gardens at Mount Macedon are open to the public and are nice to visit.

Has anyone driven the coast from Melbourne to Brisbane? Did you camp along the way, rent a camper, hotel?




Lauren


Headed to Australia in a few months. Had a friend recommend that we rent a camper and take a week or so and drive the coast to Brisbane. Any thoughts?


Answer
Lauren, great way to do it. You can stop when you want, go off and see what you want. We do it here with my wife, we rent an RV (motor home), and head off to Nova Scotia or P.E.I.

The coast road your talking about is exhilarating, very spectacular. When you get into NSW, stop off at a place called 7 Mile Beach, there are camping areas there.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What is the best place to backpack in Hawaii?

camping place long island on Long Island man says he was molested as a boy by counselor at Sullivan ...
camping place long island image



kendra


My friends and I are looking for a place to go this winter that is secluded with great views (preferably near a beach). A strenuous and/or longer hike to the campground would be preferable, but we aren't experts, so avoiding dangerous trails is a must. Ideally we'd camp for a few days in one site, and do smaller day hikes from there. Facilities, especially potable water, provided is much preferred. If you've been to a great spot please let me know : )
Thanks!



Answer
Check out Waimanu Valley on the Big Island. Have someone drop you off in Waipio Valley and hike to Waimanu. The valley has waterfalls on one end and the ocean on the other. Chances are you won't even see another person around. Google it!

What are the best places in Door County?




Mustang324


Me and my wife are planning to drive up to Door County for a day or two, and I was wondering if you fine folk know of any places we should make sure to see. We like site seeing and good shopping of course with the misses :-) I don't mind going off the beaten path if there's something good. Thanks for your help!


Answer
- Make your way to Rock Island. It's hard to get to, and there's only camping, I think, but it's definitely a unique Wisconsin experience.

http://dnr.wi.gov/org/land/parks/specific/rockisland/

- Newport State Park is very pleasant, and easy to get to, yet out of the way. Good if you fancy a long walk along Lake Michigan without many people around. Accomodations nearby, though on the expensive side.

- Peninsula State Park is very popular and has it all. It's near the Fish Creek/Gibraltor area, so you can combine good accommodations, sightseeing and shopping if you just focus on this one area.

http://maps.google.ca/maps?hl=en&tab=wl&q=peninsula%20state%20park

- Sturgeon Bay is the hub of Door County, a nice town with a lot of nice B and Bs. It's the best place in Door County for shopping, and near Potawatomi State Park, which is a pleasant get-away.

http://www.sturgeonbay.net/

Hope this helps. By the way, I haven't been back there in quite a few years, so my info may be a little outdated.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Do you find it easy to adjust playing two fps games?

camping place mw3 on Participe do 1� Campeonato de Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3 ...
camping place mw3 image



Scott


I want to be decent at MW3 which I am; however I still prefer black ops. When I play one or the other I find it hard to adjust to the other game. Is it advised to stick to one fps as the game pace etc is different.


Answer
The two play pretty much the same. You're COD play shouldn't change from game to game too much unless you rely on camping in certain places. Guns shoot the same, movement is the same, perks are used the same pretty much. So its definitely in your head.

Now switching from COD to Halo or BF will totally screw you up. idk how many times I threw a grenade when I didnt intend to in both games or when knifing left me kneeling on the ground instead of stabbing someone. Those are hard games to adjust between imo.

How to get better killstreaks in MW3?




Ceebs


I play MW3. But I always have to use the support package because Whether I Run & Gun or Camp I always get picked out. I've tried using all the stealth perks, WITH claymore and Silencers, but people just run past the claymores and I can never get a killstreak, although I have been playing CoD for a good 2 years. Any suggestions?


Answer
Few things that help...

1) Always aim down sights when going round corners or walking down long corridors.
2) Learn to dropshot. Set your controller to tactical, and practice and be persistent on it. I sucked at it at first, then after like a week it was second nature to me.
3) Silencers tend to make the weapons worse on MW3. Assault rifles are okay silenced, try the ACR with Attachments proficiency, then extended mags and silencer, i think thats the best in the game.
4) If you run around a lot, think about putting steady aim on. Aiming after running is slow - steady aim pro speeds it up.
5) Bit like point 4 - but dont sprint everywhere. If you're 100% sure that no one else is there, then yeh, go ahead, but if someone does come then you'll be slower to react than they are, so walk, or better yet crouch
6) When you die, watch a few killcams...try and pick up things that other people do against you, cause with them it's obviously working.
7) Dont overestimate yourself with killstreaks, go reasonable.
8) Care packages tend to be lucky at the moment, might give you more confidence if you get a few choppers or something.
9) hardline? does that need more explanation?
10) Use killstreaks that kind of compliment each other - I use predator, Helicopter, then one of the 9 ones - usually overwatch. Run around, get a few kills, like 3/4, even less with hardline, then camp a bit for a kill. Get the predator, hopefully get 1, maybe 2 kills with that, if only one, camp more till you get the first chopper, then let that get you 2 kills for the next. When you camp, dont stay in the same place for more than 1 kill. you can stay in the same area by all means, just if people know you're doing that then they'll know where to get you :)
11) Experiment a bit - find routes that work for you as to where to go from spawns etc, dont just think where you're going yourself, think where other people are coming from too, and look around a bit, dont just look in the direction you're running.

Cant think of much else, but hope this helps :)
message me if you want more help




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where is there a cheap camping site near Franklin TN?

camping horton place on MEMORY OF A KILLER, SALDIRGANLAR, YEP YEN BR HAYAT, SPIRIT CAMP ...
camping horton place image



HYPERgal12


Im looking for a place that me and a few of my friends can go camping before summer ends. I would love to have a place where we can ride 4-Wheelers and anything near a creek would be nice.


Answer
The least expensive places are the state parks. Henry Horton SP is not too far from Franklin. You can check them all out at http://www.tn.gov/environment/parks/findapark/camping.shtml
I don't think the state parks allow ATVs.

What kind of jobs besides fast food will hire 15 year old teenagers?




Natalie


So I am lookinq for a Job ..
I Am A 15 Year Old Female =]
But i DONT want to work at Fast Foods.
Maybe Like a Pet Store Like Petco Or Petsmart.
Or A Clothinq Store?
Everywhere I Check Is Hirinq 17 And Up
So Can you Help ME??
What Kind Of Stores Would Hire A 15 Year Old thouqh ?
Can u List Some Stores ??
Thanks !



Answer
Well it depends were you are Living live in Canada Montreal, or what Company because the government chooses what is the minimum legal working age and the company chooses the their legal minimum age out of the standards the government chose. Example If the law is 15 is the min the company can chose if they want to place their min at 15 or higher.
Some jobs though where i live are Tim Horton's, or Metro the food store, or maybe a busboy or maybe simply babysitting or doing gardening for someone.Also you could work at camps as a counselor. It all depends on where you live and what interest you, i just got a job at a food store and im 15.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where is the best place for camping in Southern Ontario if you're a beginner?

camping near ontario place on Kirkfield Ontario
camping near ontario place image



James B


I'm from Toronto and my friends and I want to go camping tomorrow. Does anyone have any recommendations for a place to camp out near Toronto. We were thinking either:

-Rouge Park in Scarborough
-Algonquin Provincial Park
-Rattlesnake Point
-Any place near Wasaga Beach

Since we're not experienced in camping, what's the best place to stay?



Answer
Go somewhere with some scenery. I really like McCrae Provincial Park, Serpent Mounds, Balsam Lake Provincial, Blue Lake P.P. Those are all a bit far from Toronto. But if you're willing to go the extra mile for some really nice places, Algonquin P.P, Bon Echo P.P are very, very nice.

Where can I camp in wilderness in Michigan?




brian


I'm looking for a place to set up camp in Michigan's lower peninsula. Is there a place I can camp that's in the middle of the wilderness, miles from anywhere or anything? Preferably near a lake or river. If it has to be a campground, is there such a thing as a campground without any hookup or facilities, that has at least a half mile inbetween campers? Thanks.


Answer
Have you ever considered the Bruce Trail on Ontario?? If you're in eastern Mich, it's not all that far. Look on a map...hwy 2 all the way to Tobemore. It's right on the Georgian Bay... absolutely unspoiled and pristine. You actually have to hike in to the trail... ho facilities at all. You'd love it if you really want seclusion.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Friday, January 10, 2014

what are some good campgrounds to get really drunk at in Canada?

camping place in quebec on Camping Trois-Rivi�res, Mauricie, Qu�bec [ Camping Grand R ]
camping place in quebec image



Bre


a bunch of ppl are turning 18 next summer, and are planning a camping trip to Canada, where they can get really drunk and live life. Obviously, they don't want to be in some family-oriented camp ground, so if anyone has partaken in such youthful craziness, and know of a decent place where they won't get kicked out or arrested for being loud and drunk, please let me know!


Answer
Come to alberta. Can drink at 18 here. Go to pretty much any lake/campsite. Other provinces you can drink at 18 are Manitoba but people only leave there, no one smart would go there to camp. Or Quebec, but that place is full of arrogant french wannabes.

thinking of going camping in quebec canada close to montreal?




Charles


anyone know any good secluded places (not a lot of people around) that are cheap i tried looking for places on google maps but its kinda hard to get more information on them.
actually if there was a good spot in ontario id like to know then id head to montreal later.



Answer
Secluded camp spots and close to Montreal is a difficult combination. On the weekend it will be practically impossible, but mid week you might have luck but will be more than an hour's drive away from the city. Look for campgrounds in Les Laurentides, to the north of Montreal, in particular, the smaller provincial campsites in the larger parks.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What are the best places in Door County?

best camping place in wisconsin on Wisconsin - Southwest Wisconsin FREE Bicycling Map - Some of the best ...
best camping place in wisconsin image



Mustang324


Me and my wife are planning to drive up to Door County for a day or two, and I was wondering if you fine folk know of any places we should make sure to see. We like site seeing and good shopping of course with the misses :-) I don't mind going off the beaten path if there's something good. Thanks for your help!


Answer
- Make your way to Rock Island. It's hard to get to, and there's only camping, I think, but it's definitely a unique Wisconsin experience.

http://dnr.wi.gov/org/land/parks/specific/rockisland/

- Newport State Park is very pleasant, and easy to get to, yet out of the way. Good if you fancy a long walk along Lake Michigan without many people around. Accomodations nearby, though on the expensive side.

- Peninsula State Park is very popular and has it all. It's near the Fish Creek/Gibraltor area, so you can combine good accommodations, sightseeing and shopping if you just focus on this one area.

http://maps.google.ca/maps?hl=en&tab=wl&q=peninsula%20state%20park

- Sturgeon Bay is the hub of Door County, a nice town with a lot of nice B and Bs. It's the best place in Door County for shopping, and near Potawatomi State Park, which is a pleasant get-away.

http://www.sturgeonbay.net/

Hope this helps. By the way, I haven't been back there in quite a few years, so my info may be a little outdated.

Are there any cheap campgrounds fifteen or so miles away from Wisconsin Dells?




wdpbball4l


Are there any cheap campgrounds fifteen-thirty miles or so miles away from Wisconsin Dells that are more secluded and/or are on water? Thanks!


Answer
Well I dunno exactly where Wisconsin Dells is but in Somerset WI you can go to Apple River. There is a camp ground and everyone floats down river. Not really a place for kids though. You can bring alcohol down the river so usually on weekends it is young people partying while they go down.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Thursday, January 9, 2014

How much does it cost to travel Europe?

camping car 9 place on Camping-car Notinliner 930
camping car 9 place image



Giuliana


Wondering how much it would cost for plane tickets, eating out, hotels, and renting cars and all that if my family and I were to travel Spain, Italy, France and Germany? Possibly the UK also. An estimated price of how much you think it would cost? Its just me my mom and dad. THANK YOU!


Answer
The actual price will depend on where you're starting from, exactly when you come to Europe, the kinds of places you stay in, how you get around and what you see, do and eat. Generally, you can get by for around $100 (plus airfare) staying in cheap hostels and watching your budget. However, if you're with you family, you'll probably be in hotels rather than hostels and that will be more expensive. I generally spend around 100 to 150 euro per night for the places I stay. There are usually s little cheaper budget options. Here are some resources that can help you plan and check options and current prices for your trip:

http://www.kayak.com/ - airfares & hotels; the explore function is useful for finding the less expensive places to fly into from your starting point.

http://www.skyscanner.it/ - particularly good for budget flights within Europe, but you can also use everywhere as a destination to do something like the explore option on Kayak. You may not need the airfares, but you can compare to the cost of the trains to get around.

http://www.seat61.com/ - a great train site with details about railpasses. It can be cheaper to buy individual tickets than passes. This site will tell you how to determine whether you're better off with a railpass or individual tickets or some combination for your trip. It also details how to use the pass and what to avoid to get the best use out of a pass. Most high speed, international and night trains require reservations and will require you to pay a supplement when you use a railpass. You need to be aware that a railpass is almost always more expensive for trains here if you're going to exclusively travel in Italy. Trains are an excellent way to get around here. If you want cars, check sites like Avis, Europcar, Sixt. Be aware that drop off fees can be high if you rent a car in one crountry and leave it in another. You also need to know that you would need to buy a tax sticker for the windshield before driving on an autobahn in either Austria or Switzerland.

http://www.venere.com/ - hotels/B&Bs - prices for the same hotel can vary hugely depending on the season and what local events are going on.

http://www.hostelbookers.com/ - hostels.

http://www.monasterystays.com/ - monasteries & convents that offer accommodations

You can also look into camping or couch surfing as cheaper alternatives for accommodations.

http://www.whatsonwhen.com/sisp/index.ht⦠- festivals, exhibitions and events

http://www.backpackeurope.com/ - information & advice

For sightseeing prices: check the websites for entrance fees for the museums & galleries you're interested in. I spend anywhere between nothing and 40 euro ($49) a day depending on exactly what I go to see when out exploring. For food, I spend around 25 to 50 euro ($31 to $62) for a meal, but you can eat for less. I was in Venice recently and paid 32 euro for lunch at Da Raffaele sitting at a canal side table with the gondolas passing by. Here in Italy, You can get a whole pizza for 8 to 13 euro ($10 - $16) or a pasta dish in the same range. Panini or pizza by the slice is less. For reference, a McDonalds McMenu classico (medium) is going for around 7.50 euro ($9.24). While you can eat cheaply most of the time, I would recommend getting a good local meal from time to time; that's part of the overall experience that it would be a shame to miss. When I travel, I like to try the local specialties and the good restaurants. Try the saltimboca or a pasta Cacio e Pepe in Rome.

Does anyone know how the sprint drivers qualified at Talladega?




Angie H


I am in a Nascar pool and when there were 2 drivers to go on qualifying Dario Franchitti was in 19th place for the Sprint race. However, becuase he had to get a driver to fill in for him he had to go to 43rd. My question is. Does anyone know what position all the drivers were in before the nationwide race took place?


Answer
Here is the Nationwide Series lineup. Dario wrecked DURING the race so they should have started the same way.
Pos Car Driver Team
1 20 Tony Stewart Old Spice Toyota
2 1 Mike Bliss Miccosukee Resorts Chevy
3 38 Jason Leffler Great Clips Toyota
4 40 Dario Franchitti # Fastenal Dodge
5 88 Brad Keselowski NAVY Chevy
6 2 Clint Bowyer Camping World/RVs.com Chevy
7 5 Dale Earnhardt Jr. DELPHI Chevy
8 18 Kyle Busch Z-Line Designs Toyota
9 33 Cale Gale # Camping World Chevy
10 32 Denny Hamlin Hass Avocados From Mexico Toyota 11 60 Carl Edwards Save-a-Lot Ford
12 9 Patrick Carpentier # Lipton Dodge
13 21 Stephen Leicht Childress Vineyards Chevy
14 41 Kyle Krisiloff Polaroid Dodge
15 16 Greg Biffle CitiFinancial Ford
16 27 Brad Coleman United States Postal Service Ford
17 81 D.J. Kennington Northern Provincial Pipe Lines Dodge
18 47 Kelly Bires Clorox Ford
19 29 Scott Wimmer Holiday Inn Chevy
20 7 Mike Wallace GEICO Toyota
21 6 David Ragan Discount Tire Ford
22 75 Johnny Sauter Arctic Ice Chevy
23 01 Kertus Davis RACEGIRL Chevy
24 64 David Stremme Atreus Homes & Communities Chevy
25 66 Steve Wallace Atreus Homes & Communities Chevy
26 70 Mark Green ForeTravel Motorcoach/Biomet Chevy
27 99 David Reutimann Aaron's Dream Machine/Best Western Toyota
28 28 Kenny Wallace U.S. Border Patrol Chevy
29 24 Eric McClure Hefty Brand Chevy
30 59 Marcos Ambrose Kingsford with Hickory Ford
31 0 Dwayne Leik Lori Morgan, LLC Chevy
32 22 Reed Sorenson Arctic Ice/Supercuts Dodge
33 89 Morgan Shepherd Victory in Jesus Racing Dodge
34 91 Larry Gunselman MSRP Motorsports Ford
35 11 Jason Keller America's Incredible Pizza Chevy
36 25 Bobby Hamilton Jr. Smithfield Ford
37 4 Robert Richardson Jr. Jay Robinson Racing Chevy
38 61 Kevin Lepage Ford
39 52 Donnie Neuenberger Royal Farms Wraps Chevy
40 05 Brett Rowe 31W Insulation/CertainTeed Chevy
41 90 Johnny Chapman MSRP Motorsports Chevy
42 57 Justin Ashburn dverne.net/Fidelity Printing Dodge
43 84 Mike Harmon Talladega Dirt Track Chevy

I hope this helps.
3 STR8 N 08!!!




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

How to assemble a big family camping tent?

family camping tents on Eco friendly tents for camping enthusiasts - Promoting Eco Friendly ...
family camping tents image



Stella


I have ordered a 8 man family tent at an online store and I wonder how to assemble such a big tent? Will it cost too much time to setup?


Answer
1. Choose a level site that is free of rocks, sticks and other debris. Spread the tent out with the floor side down. Unzip all doors.

2. Extend the tent poles by pulling out each section and inserting it into the metal ferrules. Start in the middle of the pole to reduce tension on the internal string. Set the extended poles aside.

3. Locate the center hub on the center roof of the tent. If it is not already attached to your tent model, attach it with an "s" hook.

4. Take one tent pole and slide it through one of the sleeves on the tent wall. Insert the top of the pole into one of the openings in the center hub. Repeat with the remaining tent poles.

5. Enter the tent and lift the roof by raising the center hub. The roof and tent poles will be off of the ground. One adult stays in the tent while the other works outside. Flex one of the tent poles and place the free end into the metal pin at the base of the tent. The tent pole should follow the seam line of the tent. Repeat with the remaining tent poles.

6. Attach the tent to the tent pole frame. Clip the plastic clips that are sewn to the tent walls to the tent poles. If your tent has Velcro straps instead of clips, attach the Velcro straps to the tent pole frame.

7. Stake down the tent by inserting the tent stakes through the stake loops at each corner of the tent. Pull the tent floor even and tight. Hammer the stakes into the ground at a 45 degree angle.

8. Attach the rain fly. Place the rain fly over the tent. Attach the hooks on the corners of the rain fly to the metal rings on the tent corners. If your rain fly has an additional fly pole, slide it through the sleeve at the edge of the rain fly awning. Insert each pole end into the grommets on each side of the door.

How to choose a right camping tent?




J-aa


We will plan to have a family camping next month, our last camping tent is broken, we have to get a new one. I don't want to have another failer unsuccessful purchase. Four people will sleep in the camping tent and we won't camp in winter. Is there someone can give us some wonderful suggetions? Thank you very much!


Answer
Go with a coleman instatent best family tent there is
http://coleman.com/product/instant-tent-6/2000010194?contextCategory=11020




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What can I say to convince VetTech that the numbers are not exagerated, in Houston anyway. Where do you work?

camping place houston on and do. See the list below for descriptions on a wide array of places ...
camping place houston image



OldLady


This will be my last comment on the stray cat story so here goes. I know that my vet, who was the head vet at the Houston Zoo, told me to never list that you have free kittens to a good home. The reason, people with large snakes get the kittens for free instead of having to pay for mice and rats for food. What could possibly make this anything but abuse? When I hear that people can be animals it upsets me because animals could not possibly come up with the cruel ideas people do. Our shelter will not take black cats near Halloween due to the fact they are used in satanic and ritualistic torture and killing. Jeffrey Dahmer tortured and killed animals as did most mass murderers. I have never heard of a mass murdering animal who kills just for the fun of it. Have any of you? Wild animals kill for food not for fun. They rarely set up camp, disguise themselves, place food out and then patiently wait for an animal to show up so they can kill it, take it home and put its head on the wall.


Answer
All of that is true and totally makes the feral cat problem worse. If you can care for yours, that is great, they deserve to be there. My bigger problem is the TNR ( trap, neuter, relese) programs. We have many in my area. The cats come in to the shelter, they get altered, tested amd vaccinated. Any unhealthy animals are euthanized if they are truly feral. They are put back 3 days later. There are people who feed them daily, and look after them. The bigger problem is that we put animals back out to face the torture of people. There are kids that shoot at them, try and run them over, put out anti-freeze, sic dogs on them, kick them, and many other things. If they want to catch one and torture it, all they need is a Have-a-heart. A cat gets shot, who sees it and takes the cat to the vet??? Usually no one. And what happens if they get it to a vet???? More often than not it is put to sleep. What good did we do putting it back out??? What happens when a new cat enters the colony and it has FeLV or FIV??? Then the colony starts to get ill and they die horrid deaths.
It still doesn't seem as though we have done them any favors.
Now for the human side. What happens to the people who love near the feral colonies??? They have the garbage ripped open all the time, cat pee all over the cars and houses, pets terrorized, and what happens after a child is bitten by one of the ferals. Usually no one re-traps when the next rabies vaccine is due. Now the child has to go through the pain of rabies shots.
I really do not think it is a good idea to put feral cats back out. If you have a house and it is away from others, then go for it. As long as the minimum care is met. That means rabies vaccines yearly if necessary to protect the public. If that cannot be done, they should be put to sleep.
If there are people around that have problems with the cats and are impacted in a negative way, there needs to be a resolution.
Larger freal colonies should not exist, unless the same criteria are met. They have a right to live, but they are wild animals and no one wants a colony of raccoons living next to them either. We cannot save them all and there are MANY adoptable cats that are euthanized due to lack of funds. If there was less spent on TNR programs that "drop the ball" after the release, there would be more for the adoptable ones.
People can be cruel. Why do we put so many targets out there for them. I would personally euthanize a colony of 100 cats rather than seeing them shot at or die of a prolonged illness.

Places to stay/ things to do between Texas and Pennsylvania?




Catherine


Beginning to plan a two week trip from Houston to Gettysburg and back, in September. Anybody have any must do/must see things and great places to camp (with a travel trailer) along the way.

We really like to hike/canoe/fish, visit bakeries, National Parks, and any and all historical battlefields (especially Civil War). We've seen several caverns, also like off the beaten path things.

Thanks in advance for all the suggestions.



Answer
Come to Cambridge, Ohio. We have Salt Fork State Park six miles away for camping. Or, if you want to be right off the interstate, there's Spring Valley Campground. In town, nationally famous Kennedys Bakery on Wheeling Avenue. Don't be fooled into going to Kennedy's Cakes and Pies on St. Rt. 209...upstart son's breakaway business. Not as good. Salt Fork has a nice camping beach, lots of hiking, great fishing, nice canoeing, and over 20 Geocaches hidden in the park. Cambridge is the home of Cambridge Glass, and there is a museum. There are lots of little antique/consignment stores. And in nearby Old Washington, there is the place where Morgan's Raiders met their end. They were in Old Washington, and the Union soldiers, having broken away from the main group hunting Morgan and his men, came upon the scene from above, and opened fire on the NORTHERN town from the town cemetery. Amazingly, no civilians were killed. Two confederate soldiers fell, and are burried in the cemetery above. There is a geocache there, too. Very cool old houses there. There's usually a cool festival going on somewhere in the area. Check out www.visitguernseycounty.com for all the details.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where can I buy a fireplace that is not real?

camping fireplace on Posted on March 27th, 2009 by kikonja in Home , Outdoor Fireplace
camping fireplace image



Miss


I have seen a make-believe fireplace in movies and want to know where can I buy one. It is not a real one, it sort of like a computerized one. It make people think you have a fireplace.


Answer
http://www.amazon.com/gp/redirect.html?ie=UTF8&location=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.amazon.com%2Fs%3Fie%3DUTF8%26x%3D15%26ref%255F%3Dnb%255Fss%255Fk%26y%3D16%26field-keywords%3Dfake%2520fireplace%26url%3Dsearch-alias%253Dgarden&tag=mariesmanor0b-20&linkCode=ur2&camp=1789&creative=390957

Where can I find a cabin to rent with a nice big fireplace in the room?




ART81365


In the month of January, February or March, I'll be looking for a cabin to rent that is in a beautiful part of the woods or mountains in perhaps Tennessee or Kentucky that is quiet and romantic and I'd really like a big fireplace in the room, would anyone know of such a place or several suggestions to check out? Looking for Good reviews as well.


Answer
Try Devil's Fork, Oconee and Table Rock state parks in South Carolina. They are along the mountainous Blue Ridge Escarpment and have great wintertime weather for hiking. Try Cacapon and Pipestem state parks in West Virginia. Also look at Canaan Valley. In January Canaan has lots of snow. That means downhill and cross country skiing as well as snowshoeing. See www.canaanresort.com. Unfortunately the photos do not show the fireplaces very well, but they all have them. Now I'm sure the Kentucky and Tennessee state parks have cabins too and also North Carolina. Check the Great Smokey Mountains National park too. I also like camping in cabins.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

What do you advise for a good four person tent?

kelty family camping tents on Kelty Green River 6 Tent Review - Six Person Family Camping Tents
kelty family camping tents image



bruar02


I don't want anything too heavy or bulky, our apartment is small. We have a two person tent, sierra designs lightning. It's too small for two adults, two smaller dogs and our stuff. I was looking at the mutha hubba 3 person tent, it seems nice but I don't want to outgrow it (what if we have kids) so now I'm thinking about a four person tent.


Answer
Depends on how much you want to spend. You have already mentioned two high priced tents of which are really no better the the colman brands or eureka and kelty brands. All three of these tent makers make quality family size tents that fold up into nice convenient size packages. Of these I recommend the Colman sundome series these are nice three season tents that come with a stay dry guarantee that the other three tent makers don't have. And the prices are a third of those high end tents you mentioned.

http://www.coleman.com/coleman/colemancom/detail.asp?product_id=2000001976&categoryid=11020&brand=

In the high end category where price is no object I recommend the REI base camp 6 it is a really strong three season maybe four season, pending on where your camping, multi pole and full rain fly tent. Room enough to stand up in, yet an aero dynamic design for windy weather. Its highly rated for multi use and great for base camps.

http://www.rei.com/product/777755

Now for the Taj Mahaul of family size tents where room is of the utmost importance and yet the price is still affordable I go back to Colman tents. I prefer the WeatherMaster 10 its their biggest tent and again the stay dry guarantee.

http://www.coleman.com/coleman/ColemanCom/detail.asp?CategoryID=11020&product_id=2000001598

Bottom line you can spend a lot and get just as much if not more for a lot less. so shop around

I am looking for a good quality Back Country Hiking tent.?




Rob


I am looking for a 2-3 person tent that is quality but not to expensive ($100-$150). I found a kelty for 230$, seemed high in price. Would appreciate an suggestions.


Answer
http://www.trailspace.com/gear/kelty/teton-2/
http://www.backcountry.com/outdoorgear/Kelty-Teton-2-Tent-2-Person-3-Season/KEL0384M.html?avad=397_fa3a083
Kelty Teton 2
2-Person 3-Season
$149.95
*I own this simple, easy-to-pitch, two-pole design tent that offers super ventilation and quick setup.

http://www.trailspace.com/gear/kelty/yellowstone-4/
http://www.backcountry.com/outdoorgear/Kelty-Yellowstone-4-Tent-4-Person-3-Season/KEL0299M.html?avad=397_fa3a0eb
Kelty Yellowstone 4 Tent 4-Person 3-Season
$144.95
This tent sleeps four, offers a quick, easy setup and is an economical choice for the camping couple or family.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Are there any Residental Camps that focus mainly on Water Sports in the England or Wales?

camping place in wales on ... Wales. It is best known for Harlech Castle which dominates the town
camping place in wales image



Becca Bigc


I am looking at places similar to P.G.L.

Any help with be very much appreciated!



Answer
There are quite lot of places - some major ones are plas y brenin (england's centre but located in north wales) and plas menai - there are other commercial ones based near the expected locations but i would start with them.

How much would it roughly cost to travel Ireland, England and Scotland for 6 months?




Ariel


Ill be living as cheap as possible. I am willing to volunteer my time for free room and I can easily go a few days without eating if necessary. I just want an amazing experience in a beautiful country that doesn't make me believe you need money to enjoy amazing things.


Answer
Aw, your plans sound awesome!

Ok, ill com back in the morning (its after 2.30 am, im tired) and add in some links, but its really possible to do on the ultra, ultra cheap. I love making plans!!! Yay!

For free.
Wwoofing. You get a bed and food in return for working on an organic farm. Ive never done it, but its there, and free. Try it!

For free and a tiny bit of money!!
Voluntary warden at a youth hostel. Youd need to sync in a training weekend somehow, which are not too regular, but once youve done this youre allowed to volunteer alone at some of the more remote youth hostels, which dont have staff. You get a small daily travel allowance~ £5 to £10 i think!! Youd need to probably have documentation to show youre a safe member of society, and no criminal record~ contact the yha. Arrange this before you come over to avoid delays and hassle.
They have a few provisions, but you should ask them if theyd make an exception~ they want comittment over 3 yrs, as youd be so eager to of a lot of it. Its for remote, generally pretty quiet places, which have no full time staff. You get your own private room, btw, so you dont have to dorm with the hoi poli : ) you book people in and tidy, but they are generally very quiet hostels, hence having no paid staff. http://www.yha.org.uk/sites/all/themes/yha/volunteering/files/Volunteer%20Manager.pdf

Small cost. Camping.
I love camping. However, the uk has had several really rainy years in a row, so the shine has tarnished a bit for me. Force 8 gale & rain on a cliff top was not cool :/
Its certainly not a long term option, esp not in ireland & scotland which have higher rainfall anyway, but something to have as a plan b if the weather turns sunny and your plans are flexible. In england most countryside is farmed so you can only camp at campsites~ around £5 pn, but scotland, ireland & wales have lots of space so wild camping is fine. The downside is luggage as youd presumably have no car. You could arrange to leave stuff at a woofing farm, and return for a stint~ i camp and ive been offered to leave my kit at places for months. People are pretty chill. The nicest, cheapest, quietest places are sometimes a bit of a treck though, so youd have to walk. Youd have to buy kit, of course, but its incredibly lovely in the sunshine and youd save money longer term.

Sofa surfing. Also free. You sign up for it with the intention of returning the offer~ you just stay on peoples' sofa for a night or two. I met someone whose son was sofa surfing his way round the world and had only awesome tales to tell. Ive never done it.

Hitch hiking is apparently pretty easy in Ireland, and is free. Im from the south west of england, and do it in devon and cornwall. Its faster than busses a lot of the time, and ive met awesome people. Obv use caution and trust your gut, but honestly, ive felt endangered more often out on a saturday night in any town w drunk guys wandering about than hitching lifts. Its harder in other areas tho. We are just nice in devon/cornwall!

Megabus. Apparently annoying other passengers abound, but if you book tickets far enough in advance, long trips are £1.50 so who cares. Also has cheap rail tickets, on regular trains.
Local busses in rural areas can be slow & inconvenient.

You dont want to be rushing about all over the place~ you wouldnt take anything in. Aim to be somewhere at least 5 days to absorb it~ thatd also reduce your travel costs.
Im numerically dyslexic and verrry tired, so im not going to attemt to ravage my brain with working out costs, but ~ nearly free.

For food, You can buy packets of biscuits (what you call cookies) for 35p, which is ?? $1 i think, and live off that. Dont aim to be too broke though better to have a shorter trip by a few weeks and enjoy yourself more, than be here longer but too exhausted to do anything. Living costs are far higher here.

Sounds awesome!! I wish you well : )




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Best place to spend anniversary in the Philippines specifically in the Luzon area?

camping place in philippines on Forest Camp - Dumaguete - Philippines
camping place in philippines image



cheska


We are about to celebrate our 9th yr anniversary this coming October and we have decided to spend it somewhere in Luzon because we haven't toured the places there yet. We live in Manila and we wanted specifically in the areas of Tagaytay, Laguna, and nearby provinces since they are near from the metro. If ever you guys have suggestions aside from the places we listed then better. As much as possible near in metro manila only because we only have a day to unwind. Thanks in advance!:)


Answer
How about Camp John Hay in Baguio or Banawe Rice Terraces. It's in North Luzon though but a lot better than in any place in Laguna.

Where can i find a good soccer camp in the Philippines for ages 12 and above?That's overnight?




kayleen ch


I want a soccer camp where its overnight in the Philippines.For ages 12 and above.I want this place to be new and fresh, with cool facilities.That are clean and well maintened.


Answer
Miss, I believe you might have better luck if you repost your question in a different catagory, soccer has it's own section.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Wednesday, January 8, 2014

Spawn of Satan child? Any input/suggestions would be appreciated?

camping car occasion 7 place on Rapido 691 - Profil�s - Le Monde du Camping-Car
camping car occasion 7 place image



Mhaith


I'm at my wit's end here, and this is not the first, nor the only place I have looked for help, but I am desperate and need advice. My apologies for the long explanation, but I want people to have the full story so that any advice I get is helpful (hopefully).

My wife and I have 7 children, 3 boys/4 girls. This question is regarding our youngest, and 3rd son, who is 16. He is not like our other children. I have long had my suspicions (since shortly after his birth) that he is not my biological child, as he was conceived right around the time my wife and I had a short separation to work out some marital issues, and he bears a VERY strong resemblance to this drunken dirtball politician my wife knew in passing from her work, and if ANYONE would sleep with another man's wife, it was this SOB. My "son" looks like he could have come straight out of one of their family albums, and I don't think I'm being paranoid. Total strangers have told us he looks like a member this man's family.

Even more disturbing, is that this child, in spite of being raised exactly like my other 6 children, appears to have no conscience, and no fear of anything, and he is extremely immoral and rebellious. The stress of dealing with him is going to be the death of my wife and I. I am not exaggerating. Let me just give you a few examples of the things he has done. I have had to pay for no less than THREE abortions for various girls he has randomly slept with. We are Catholic. This is completely against our beliefs, but the parents of the girls were furious and at this point I feel like I am faced with a choice between raising an army of his illegitimate offspring, or having him neutered. I don't know what I'll do if I get another call like that. He also drinks, no matter how we try to prevent it and talk him out of it, punish him, you name it. He also smokes pot, as I have found pipes and lighters in his room. He has stolen our cars on numerous occasions, and completely totaled one of them driving it completely drunk after some party. He flipped it, going about 80 on this little road in bad weather and nearly killed the other kids in the car. And NO PUNISHMENT SCARES HIM. With my other children, I can give them a certain "look" and they will know they've gone too far. With him, I can (and regrettably, I have) slam him up against a wall, thrash him around, hit him with my belt, scream, threaten him, lock him in his room, take everything away from him, etc., and no matter what I do, he is utterly unfazed and just carries on as if nothing has happened at all.

I will say, he isn't particularly rude or nasty to us. He does show remorse, but not fear. I can be pinning him to the wall by his shirt, yelling at the top of my lungs in his face, and he won't bat an eye. He will say he's sorry and then go right back to what he was doing before. He has always been this way, but when he became a teenager, it increased a thousand fold and I am at a loss here. What do I do? Just give up on him? Please advise.
I have called the police on him (just to try to put the fear of God in him, or at least the fear of jail) and he charmed his way out of it. He wasn't even frightened by that. The police were patting him on the back and looking at me like I was a bad father. I don't want to send him to a boot camp or whatever you call those things because I worry it will just make him worse. Hanging around with people like that is bound to be a bad influence. He's doing bad enough things with the decent kids from his private school. I can't imagine what he would do if he joined a gang of delinquents.



Answer
There are a number of things you can do. First, lay off the slamming him up against a wall and spankings and such You've seen it doesn't work. It just shows him that he can get you to lose control, and he probably gets some satisfaction out of that.

Instead, you need some parenting classes, both you and your wife, so you can learn how to parent him. You don't mention her at all; I wonder how she's taking this.

I think you should also talk to your wife about your suspicious about his conception. Since you're Catholic, you can talk to your priest about this, too. Or you can just get a DNA test and see for yourself. But frankly, I would talk to your wife. It may be that your anger about this situation is causing you to look at your son differently (yes, he's your son, you're the father raising him, whether it was your sperm or not), and that's affecting his behavior. You can't change his DNA, but you can get counseling to change your reaction to it.

You can also rethink rescuing him when he gets in trouble. You've been paying for these abortions when he gets a girl pregnant and that's against your religion. So is there a different option? Maybe you should consider telling him that next time, he's on his own, and he can see what it's like to either work for the money or to have to pay child support for 18 years? Or at least tell him to work off the money you pay?

If you're paying for private school, I would definitely suggest paying for counseling for him, and family counseling for both of you. You may not be able to fix hm, but you can fix your reaction to him.

I'd also suggest sending him on Outward Bound. It may help. It's not a boot camp, but it does teach people personal responsibility and working as a team. They have one and two month courses if you can afford it, but even a three-day course might help.

You can also look into sending him to an all-boys boarding school. At least it will remove some of the ways he's been meeting girls and seducing them. It doesn't have to be a boot camp type of place, but it will take him away from you, and clearly your interactions are toxic.

Don't have liquor in your house, and look into ignition locks for your cars.

Finally, you might have him evaluated by a psychiatrist. He may have borderline personality disorder or even sociopathology. Then there might be some treatment for him.

It may be hard to believe, but he's probably just as unhappy as you are.

Has Japan apologized for pearl harbor?




L


The U.S. has apologized for the atomic bombs on Japan and for the Japanese internment camps in the US during WWII, I'm wondering, has Japan apologized to the US for Pearl Harbor and the abusing and starving to death of American POW's? I'm also wandering if it has apologized to SE Asian nations for it's brutal abuse on them, and to China for countless invasions and deaths. I dont know, so that's why I'm asking. And if they haven't, then WTF is wrong with them???
Yes, the US apopogized for slavery in the 70's.
this is to city girl: after WWII, the US apopogized to Japan and asked if it could compensate it for Hiroshima and Nagasaki, in compensation, the Japanese asked for American scientists to go and teach the japanese, so its actually US that gave them the technology that helped them become who they are today.
To YC: Actually, 62 million people died in WWII, principal culprits: JAPAN, GERMANY, the atom bomb killed just over 200,000, I think Japan killed WAY more people with it's armies, than the atom bombs did.



Answer
The following op-ed appeared in the San Jose Mercury News on Saturday, December 7, 1991, under the headline "Fifty years ago, the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor: Many nations caused World War II â so who whould apologize to whom?" It was prompted by what I saw as a misguided effort to assess blame. Many Americans felt this anniversary was an appropriate time for Japan to issue a formal apology for what we saw as a dastardly sneak attack that plunged half the world into war. This led some Japanese, and some Americans as well, to call for America to apologize for what they saw as an unwarranted attack on the civilian populations of Hiroshima and Nagasaki with weapons of mass destruction. Both sides had a point, but in my opinion, both sides also missed the point. Hence this article explaining my view.

Thoughts on the 50th Anniversary of Pearl Harbor

Martin E. Hellman

Many years ago when my daughters were small, the younger one asked the older, "In a civil war, the two sides are the same country. So which is the good one?" The older one thought a minute before the solution dawned on her, "The one that wins." She was too small to understand the full wisdom of her answer, but children have an uncanny knack for cutting to the core of truth.

The 50th anniversary of Pearl Harbor has been an occasion for assessing blame. Do the Japanese owe us an apology for the 2,400 Americans killed at Pearl Harbor? If so, do we owe them an apology for the 115,000 men, women and children killed at Hiroshima and Nagasaki? The general sentiment in this country seems to be that they owe us an apology, but we don't owe them one. That is normal, but a big mistake.

In the new era of global interdependence, every war is a civil war of brother fighting against brother to their mutual detriment. Now, as then, the winner in a civil war gets to write the history books and become the good guy. But also now, as then, the loser chafes under the unfair stigma and humiliation and waits his chance for revenge. It is no coincidence that Hitler had France's 1940 surrender take place in the same railway car that witnessed the signing of Germany's humiliating defeat in 1918.

In our quest for designation as righteous warrior against Japan (and Germany), for 50 years we have been setting up a similar rematch. The recent rise in virulent Japanese nationalism and militarism is an ominous sign that history may be about to repeat itself.
One of my colleagues, either crazy or prescient, thinks it will be a shooting war. But even "merely" an economic war will take a heavy toll on both sides. There are already signs that we Americans are paying a heavy price for enjoying what has traditionally been one of the fruits of victory â writing history to our benefit, thereby humiliating our opponent.

Admittedly, we have been kinder this time around than in earlier wars, but we are still far from honest and fair. On the surface, Germany and Japan are to blame for World War II. They were militaristic and warlike, and they attacked first. But, if we look deeper, we find sources of blame which we have minimized:

* France, Britain and the United States forced a humiliating defeat and impossible economic reparations on,Germany in 1918, even though it was no more responsible for starting World War I than many others.
* Both the Chinese Nationalists and Communists refused to recognize that some goals of the other side were reasonable. Instead, they fought a debilitating civil war that left a power vacuum in Manchuria that was filled by warlords and bandits. This gave the Japanese a basis for "sending the Marines to restore order" and protect Japanese business interests.
* The colonial powers subjugated much of Asia, allowing Japan the illusion that its "Greater East Asia Co-prosperity Sphere" was Asians liberating Asians from Caucasian domination and racism. America of the 1930s was an openly racist nation, prone to an earlier form of Japan bashing.

This list could be extended and supplemented with equally long lists for Japan, Germany, Hungary, Russia and every other nation involved in the war.

So who should apologize to whom? Certainly, no nation should be humiliated into an apology. Forced apologies are hollow and short-lived, and no nation speaks with a single voice. Assessing blame for the last war only leads to the next.

Rather, let those among us who are secure enough to recognize that all humans are fallible come forward and apologize for their own mistakes. If enough of us find that nobility of spirit, just maybe there will be no next war for which to apologize.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

Where is there real wilderness camping outside of New York City?

camping place in new york on New York By Rail: Articles : Grand War of 1812 Reenactment | Sackets ...
camping place in new york image



Sophie P


We'll be renting a car so it doesn't have to be accessible to public transportation. We're looking for a real wilderness type of camping experience, rather than putting up a tent on a large lawn or within view of other campers. Any suggestions would be appreciated.


Answer
The closest place for REAL wilderness camping would be six or seven hours away (depending on the specific location chosen) in the Adirondack Park. It's over six million acres and includes a 2.3 million acre forest preserve which the NY State Constitution mandates must be "forever wild." That preserve is the only public land in New York in which you can camp anywhere you want to (except, during the summer, anywhere over 6,000 feet elevation, because of fire risk) without having to be in an actual campground -- though there is that option, there are dozens of campgrounds that vary greatly in the level of amenities that are available and how crowded the sites are.

Wikipedia has a pretty good writeup about the park:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adirondack_Mountains

One campground that is worth considering, and is one of my favorites, is called Indian Lake Islands. The appeal, if you can get one reserved, is that there are campsites on islands that can be reached only by boat. Some islands have as few as one or two sites, so privacy is better than most organized campgrounds. The whole area is heavily forested, so even if there are other sites around it's not like that "large lawn" feeling. Info on the facility is here:
http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24471.html

I also like Eighth Lake (apparently at some point they ran out of names for the many lakes, and just started using numbers!):
http://www.dec.ny.gov/outdoor/24465.html

There are some reasonably similar campgrounds in the Catskills, but generally it's more crowded there and you don't have the freedom to just pitch a tent (or use an available public lean-to at no charge) like you would in the Adirondacks. The upside there is it's less than three hours away from NYC.

What is the usual tuition for a good Equestrian summer camp?




Kisa


I want to go to an overnight summer camp any where in the states, i would like it to be a good one. so i was looking at culver but the approximate cost is about $6,500 and that is a lot of money. although Culver is a great summer camp and it has diverse activities to choose. Should i go to culver, are the prices of other good equestrian camps equal? and what other camps should i consider?


Answer
This depends to a large extent on where the camp is located and who is running it, Kisa. There are horse camps for every level of rider, in every state in the country ( I take it that you must be from Australia or somewhere in the southern hemisphere, where it's nearly the end of the winter) and they vary widely in terms of their costs and the types of activities offered. It would help if I knew a bit more about what your riding interests are and what your ability level is, but since you've indicated an interest in the camp at the Culver Military Academy, I can tell you a little bit about that.

Culver Academy is a private, military style school for girls and boys in grades 7 through 12 that is located in the northern part of the state of Indiana, in the American Midwest. You are correct about its reputation-it is well known as one of the best preparatory schools in the country, and is the home of the famous "Black Horse Troop" which has been seen and has perfomed at numerous events- everything from the Rose Parade in Pasadena, California to the recent presidential inaugural parade. The school does offer a summer program and camp, yes, but it's held during OUR SUMMER, which is the dead of the winter for you, Kisa, when you would normally be in school yourself. The impression I get from your question is that you may be thinking of coming here either this year ( it's already almost autumn here now, most summer camps are closed for the season, and our schools and universities have just opened for the fall semester) or perhaps in your summer, which occurs during OUR winter season. If you come to the States at that time, you'll be disappointed, because no camp operates year round, even at a place like Culver. If you want to attend a summer camp in the States, you are going to have to travel here at the BEGINING of your winter, or perhaps in the late fall. In addition, you'll need to sign up and pay your camp fees way in advance if you want to get a spot at a place like Culver ( and I will give you the name and web address of another camp which you should check out that is even better than Culver in a lot of ways) because these places fill up fast and competition for spots at them is keen. I am not sure that the school you attend is going to be very thrilled with the idea of your taking 3 months off in the winter to attend camp- that may not go over very well, and you need to clear it with the school officials BEFORE you sign up for camp or make reservations to fly over. Otherwise, problems could result- serious ones.

The other camp I want to mention to you, which does operate year round, at least to some degree, is the International Riding Camp for girls, which is located in upstate New York, in the foothills of the Catskill Mountains. ( The US has numerous mountain ranges- there are two of them in New York state alone.) IRC is also a privately owned and run camp, and they have campers from around the world, which may be of interest to you. Their website is www.internationalridingcamp.com, and you should check this out. Culver is a good camp, but it's not the only fish in the sea. You may decide you like IRC better. Good luck in your search.




Powered by Yahoo! Answers