Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Has Japan apologized for pearl harbor?

camping car 2 place occasion on playmobil camping car + pique nique - Jeux, jouets pas cher d'occasion ...
camping car 2 place occasion image



L


The U.S. has apologized for the atomic bombs on Japan and for the Japanese internment camps in the US during WWII, I'm wondering, has Japan apologized to the US for Pearl Harbor and the abusing and starving to death of American POW's? I'm also wandering if it has apologized to SE Asian nations for it's brutal abuse on them, and to China for countless invasions and deaths. I dont know, so that's why I'm asking. And if they haven't, then WTF is wrong with them???
Yes, the US apopogized for slavery in the 70's.
this is to city girl: after WWII, the US apopogized to Japan and asked if it could compensate it for Hiroshima and Nagasaki, in compensation, the Japanese asked for American scientists to go and teach the japanese, so its actually US that gave them the technology that helped them become who they are today.
To YC: Actually, 62 million people died in WWII, principal culprits: JAPAN, GERMANY, the atom bomb killed just over 200,000, I think Japan killed WAY more people with it's armies, than the atom bombs did.



Answer
The following op-ed appeared in the San Jose Mercury News on Saturday, December 7, 1991, under the headline "Fifty years ago, the Japanese attacked Pearl Harbor: Many nations caused World War II â so who whould apologize to whom?" It was prompted by what I saw as a misguided effort to assess blame. Many Americans felt this anniversary was an appropriate time for Japan to issue a formal apology for what we saw as a dastardly sneak attack that plunged half the world into war. This led some Japanese, and some Americans as well, to call for America to apologize for what they saw as an unwarranted attack on the civilian populations of Hiroshima and Nagasaki with weapons of mass destruction. Both sides had a point, but in my opinion, both sides also missed the point. Hence this article explaining my view.

Thoughts on the 50th Anniversary of Pearl Harbor

Martin E. Hellman

Many years ago when my daughters were small, the younger one asked the older, "In a civil war, the two sides are the same country. So which is the good one?" The older one thought a minute before the solution dawned on her, "The one that wins." She was too small to understand the full wisdom of her answer, but children have an uncanny knack for cutting to the core of truth.

The 50th anniversary of Pearl Harbor has been an occasion for assessing blame. Do the Japanese owe us an apology for the 2,400 Americans killed at Pearl Harbor? If so, do we owe them an apology for the 115,000 men, women and children killed at Hiroshima and Nagasaki? The general sentiment in this country seems to be that they owe us an apology, but we don't owe them one. That is normal, but a big mistake.

In the new era of global interdependence, every war is a civil war of brother fighting against brother to their mutual detriment. Now, as then, the winner in a civil war gets to write the history books and become the good guy. But also now, as then, the loser chafes under the unfair stigma and humiliation and waits his chance for revenge. It is no coincidence that Hitler had France's 1940 surrender take place in the same railway car that witnessed the signing of Germany's humiliating defeat in 1918.

In our quest for designation as righteous warrior against Japan (and Germany), for 50 years we have been setting up a similar rematch. The recent rise in virulent Japanese nationalism and militarism is an ominous sign that history may be about to repeat itself.
One of my colleagues, either crazy or prescient, thinks it will be a shooting war. But even "merely" an economic war will take a heavy toll on both sides. There are already signs that we Americans are paying a heavy price for enjoying what has traditionally been one of the fruits of victory â writing history to our benefit, thereby humiliating our opponent.

Admittedly, we have been kinder this time around than in earlier wars, but we are still far from honest and fair. On the surface, Germany and Japan are to blame for World War II. They were militaristic and warlike, and they attacked first. But, if we look deeper, we find sources of blame which we have minimized:

* France, Britain and the United States forced a humiliating defeat and impossible economic reparations on,Germany in 1918, even though it was no more responsible for starting World War I than many others.
* Both the Chinese Nationalists and Communists refused to recognize that some goals of the other side were reasonable. Instead, they fought a debilitating civil war that left a power vacuum in Manchuria that was filled by warlords and bandits. This gave the Japanese a basis for "sending the Marines to restore order" and protect Japanese business interests.
* The colonial powers subjugated much of Asia, allowing Japan the illusion that its "Greater East Asia Co-prosperity Sphere" was Asians liberating Asians from Caucasian domination and racism. America of the 1930s was an openly racist nation, prone to an earlier form of Japan bashing.

This list could be extended and supplemented with equally long lists for Japan, Germany, Hungary, Russia and every other nation involved in the war.

So who should apologize to whom? Certainly, no nation should be humiliated into an apology. Forced apologies are hollow and short-lived, and no nation speaks with a single voice. Assessing blame for the last war only leads to the next.

Rather, let those among us who are secure enough to recognize that all humans are fallible come forward and apologize for their own mistakes. If enough of us find that nobility of spirit, just maybe there will be no next war for which to apologize.

How can YOU tell if you are horse crazy?




Ahren


Or mule, or donkey crazy. ;D I'd like to hear yours!

Here are mine, these all happened to me =):
1. When you hear love songs on the radio, you immediately think about your special someone... your horse.
2. Your washer is full of saddle pads.
3. Your clothes are covered in mud/horse sweat/hay/horse hair almost every day.
4. Your teachers ask you to please stop drawing horses on your homework.
5. You volunteer to scoop your horses pen in the pouring rain, in the dark, all alone just to spend extra time with him, then when you are finished wait an extra hour for them to come pick you up, and not regret it at all. :D
6. Ever extra penny of your wages go to your horses board.

What about you?
Love them. =)

6. When you go around the back of your car, you pat it so it knows you are there.
7. You are training your dog to do horse commands, whoa, walk, trot etc. XD Makes it a lot easier to walk her!
8. You hear a mom talk about colic, and you immediately think about horse colic.

(Just spent 3:00 singing and walking my poor colicy horse around. -_- REALLY tired.)



Answer
1) When in the car, you cluck at people moving too slow.
2) When you're in the halls at school, you say "Coming on the outside/inside."
3) Your horse is your best friend.
4) You ride first, then do homework.
5) Your hands are calloused to the point where they are gloves themselves.
6) People ask you why you have some extra baling twine in your backpack
7) More money goes to your horse's feed than yours.
8) You wash blankets and saddle pads more often then your own clothes.
9) Your favorite place to shop is the 4-H tack sale.
10) Your only pair of shoes are riding boots and water proof mud boots.
11) You go to school with hay in your hair and stuck to your clothes.
12) Your favorite vacations are horse shows.
13) The only gossip you've ever engaged in is the latest love lives of the barn mares.
14) Whenever you go camping, your horse comes too.
15) You make money during the summer by cleaning stalls and bucking hay.
16) The only weights you've lifted in your life are hay bales and sawdust bags.
17) Your entire Christmas list are things for your horse.
18) You've been bucked off, splattered in mud, had your foot stepped on, had your clothes pooped on, cleaned out a dirty paddock in the pouring rain, bit, kicked, been to the hospital (preferably on multiple occasions) from being injured in some way by a horse, and loved every bit of it.

(Guilty of all of the above)




Powered by Yahoo! Answers

No comments:

Post a Comment